Tags

, , , , , , , ,

In the Pierpont Morgan Library, this Book of Hours in Latin and French originates from the Loire region in France about 1475 [1].

On folio 014r a miniature of the Evangelist Matthew on a bench writing on a desk is surrounded by a border with flowers, a snail and some birds. The snail is dextral with a slightly thickened aperture lip (Helix-like) and its tentacles shown.

PMM_g1.I.014r_

PMM_g1.I.014r_d

Folio 061v shows the Annunciation of Mary by two sheperds, with margins decorated with border of floreate ornaments with butterflies, a bird and a snail. The snail is seen in ‘2D squashed mode’, showing a dextral specimen with a slightly ribbed shell.

PMM_g1.I.061v_

PMM_g1.I.061vc_

PMM_g1.I.061vc_d

The Coronation of Virgin Mary is shown on folio 091v in a miniature, with borders of floreate ornamentation with a woman and two snails. In the left border the snail is seen from the top, in the lower border the animal is shown from the left side. Both specimens are dextral.

PMM_g1.I.091v_

PMM_g1.I.091vb_

PMM_g1.I.091vb_d

PMM_g1.I.091vc_

PMM_g1.I.091vc_d

Folio 127r illustrates in a miniature the Crucification of Christ. The borders are populated with a butterfly, bird, snail, fly and a grotestque. The snail is a dextral specimen, with two tentacles shown.

PMM_g1.I.127r_

PMM_g1.I.127rc_

PMM_g1.I.127rc_d

Pentecost is shown in the miniature on folio 139r, with borders illustrating flowers, butterflies, a snail and a hybrid. The snail has a dextral shell; the head of the animal is drawn with two tentacles and a humanised face, the whole looking like the head of a sheep.

PMM_g1.I.139r_

PMM_g1.I.139rb_

PMM_g1.I.139rb_d

Finally, folio 330r shows in the miniature the Deposition of Christ; the borders are decorated with floreate ornaments, two birds, a snail and a woman riding on a hybrid bird. The snail is seen from the left side with a more or less stylised shell (dextral) and the animal with two tentacles.

PMM_g1.II.330r_

PMM_g1.II.330rb_

PMM_g1.II.330rb_d

All shells are brownish and may have been modeled after a Helix species.

Note:
[1] PMM, inv. Ms. G.1, ff. 224 + 134. http://corsair.morganlibrary.org/msdescr/BBG0001a.pdf.

